I’ll Take That Dissertation To Go, Please!


If you’ve read any/all of my previous posts, you know by now that I am one plagued by grandiose dreams. I can’t visit France, I have to rent a flat in France for a week and explore the Louvre from top to bottom. I can’t book a weekend in Rome, I have to pre-schedule visits to art galleries and find a slew of restaurants I will be hitting up per Rachel Ray’s recommendations. I’m a planner. A planner who plans big. That being said, I have tentatively (very tentatively) planned a little map of fun for next summer. I specifically chose an accommodation provided by LSE that had a contract of 40 weeks (instead of the standard 52). July 3rd, which marks the last day of Lent Term, also marks the last day of my housing contract. After speaking with my graduate department, I have been assured that being in the UK is not mandatory during the summer. The only thing that is mandatory is that one’s dissertation is completed and submitted by September’s end in 2010. Well, being the advantageous Californian that I am, I have a well-thought out plan of attack for the 12 weeks that I would be homeless: Euro trip + hostels + rented villas = the life!

WEuropeMap

My plan from the beginning has been to spend the summer in hostels and/or homes that provide Wi-fi, so I can travel and see the world whilst working on my crazily important dissertation. I have no intention of letting my studies or responsibilities fall by the wayside, but I do think that if doing my dissertation in London isn’t required, then I will be using those 12 weeks to check out a load of European countries. With discount airlines like EasyJet and RyanAir providing amazing flight deals (£1, £5, £10, etc.), a little flexibility and an internet connection is all I will need to have a super fun-filled summer. Plus, with fellow students being interested in this madness, I know I have some partners in crime with which to share the costs of a villa.

On the list for next summer:

1. Portugal
2. Spain
3. France
4. Italy
5. Switzerland
6. Germany
7. Czech Republic
8. Belgium
9. Netherlands
10. Denmark
11. Turkey
12. Greece

With the amazing deals on hostels and on vacation homes, traveling is actually super affordable. Considering I am paying about £160 ($265) per week to have a place to live in London, any place that offers housing for the same amount (or less) per week, will fit into my plans perfectly. At that rate, anything that costs less than costs less than $35 – $37 per night is in my range and most hostels are much less than that (depending on the country)!

Amazing what discount airlines and one-star accommodations can afford us!

Signature Stamp - Shannon

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lisalivinglife on August 23, 2009 at 10:27 PM

    You know that I am so in for all of this. I plan on getting a room in London for the summer to keep my stuff and to use as a base when I periodically come back to London.

    A must do for me this summer is to attend at least one stage of the Tour de France. And sometime in the next year I have to get to Egypt and see the pyramids ( not in the middle of the summer heat).

    London is getting so so close!!

    Lisa

    Reply

  2. Posted by Vasundhara on August 24, 2009 at 5:14 AM

    Shannon I’m LOVING the post !!! Its got me SO excited for the next year ! xx

    Reply

  3. I am soooo excited about next summer! I think we should definitely get a group together so we can look at getting some amazing homes to rent in various countries! As long as we have Wi-fi, I think we should be okay on the dissertation front! <3.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

