Sisterly Surprise!


So for anyone that knows me, you probably can attest to the fact that I am the consummate planner. Like a super planner. And it’s not because I’m anal, no… well, that’s a part of it, but the real reason is that I am obsessed with coordinating something awesome and memorable! I love when birthdays, holidays and other special occasions roll around because I am gifted with a new day for which to plan. Mother’s Day was the last thing I was able to plan and that was a success! We had a super fun tea party complete with homemade scones, tea sandwiches, bellinis and (of course) tea! We even had homemade place mats & roses for each of the moms present. Needless to say, there were a few tears. It was perfect. Well, as soon as Mother’s Day had come and gone, my mind was on to the next occassion — my sister’s 19th birthday!

As a preface, let me explain something: Not only do I totally love my sister to pieces, but she had to spend her 18th birthday in the hospital after undergoing a pretty major back surgery — although the surgery went well, her birthday was not so fun. She was stuck in a hospital bed, eating ice chips and downing pain meds like there was no tomorrow. I highly doubt she even remembers her birthday last year. Well, as a sister (and a super planner), I am destined to make this year a success. I had to wait until today to share this with you guys because I didn’t want her (and her nosy self) checking my site to see what was up for her birthday. She definitely knows that I have something planned, but she has no idea!  

So, here’s a run down of my super secret plan:

My mom, dad, grandma, Tiff & I will all be a part of this surprise weekend (although she is obviously not yet aware!)

I made reservations at a B&B in the Monterey area called Gosby House Inn. I managed to snag two awesome rooms for the night; grandma, Tiff & I are in one room, while mom and dad share the other (there will definitely be a review to come)! The B&B is kind enough to put celebratory balloons in our room before arrival as an extra bonus! The day before we head down, we’ll be packing up all of our clothes (and her clothes) for the weekend and throwing them in the back of the SUV where they are effectively out of sight. We’re also packing a picnic lunch for the beach. Mmmm! The plan is to stop at Capitola Beach on the way down and spend Saturday soaking up the sunshine at Capitola Beach (weather.com has informed me that it’ll be about 70 and sunny). Tiff hasn’t been to Santa Cruz or Monterey before, so this is going to be a super fun experience for her.

Since it is her birthday, aside from the trip, I got her a slew of beach-themed goodies for her to celebrate the day. I’ll be giving these to her on the way down (once we’re about 30 minutes in) so she can get an inkling of where we may be going:

tiff tote

A cute new beach tote to store all of her beach goodies!

tiff monokini

A very Tiffany-esque monokini inside the tote!

tiff hat

A super cute floppy sun hat!

tiff gladiator

Gotta love Aldo’s Hempe gladiator sandals!

maui babe

So she can work on her tan <3.

And, of course, a beach towel, a water bottle & a good book to read while laying out!

For Saturday night, in honor of her birthday, we’re heading into nearby Carmel for dinner and hang out time. This is the first real family vacation we have been on since 1998 (I know!!) so it’s much-needed! My mom has been dying to go to Carmel, so this is a must. With so many restaurants and the gorgeous June weather, it will be heaven! For dessert, I have ordered little specialty cupcakes from Layers Cake in Monterey, CA!

Baby Cakes

They are clearly delicious looking and they come in a slew of flavors including: mocha latte, lemon love, cookies ‘n cream, rocky road trip and red velvet. They are ginormous and half dozen will be absolutely perfect for our night in paradise. I, of course, am having her cupcake emblazoned with a big “T” on the top to designate which one is for the birthday girl (cookies ‘n cream) <3.

We’re currently leaving Sunday up to the Birthday Girl — she can decide whether she wants to stay in Monterey or head back up to the Santa Cruz area for some more beach time! Since it is Father’s Day, however, breakfast in bed will be heading to dad’s room along with a mini gift exchange (made him a scrapbook & got him some super cute beach attire).

Like I said, I am an obsessive planner. I just hope it’s a success & she’s happy with it. Tiffy, if you’re reading this:

Happy Birthday, Sis!

Little heart&soul action!

Little heart&soul action!

Lots of love & many happy birthdays,

Signature Stamp - Shannon

One response to this post.

  1. […] Contact « Sisterly Surprise! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

