Humanitarian Fashionistas Unite.


Now, I always find it kind of oxymoronic to think that one can be a humanitarian and a trendy, designer-loving fashionista. I think that by choosing a career in International Development I’ve sort of chosen a life with some occasional field work that will inevitably force me to leave my Sevens and MAC collection at home, but it’s a sacrifice I’m more than okay with! It very much irritates my boyfriend when I discuss my internal battle in an outside voice; it normally goes something like this:

“I feel so bad wanting the new Valentino wallet when there are kids that are starving in third-world countries, but it’s just soooo pretty.  And I know that it will last a long time, so really $500 can be amortized over 12 years which really only makes the wallet about 12 cents a day… but for 12 cents a day, those kids could probably have rice and clean water…”  This little internal dialogue goes on for about two months prior to a large purchase, mind you, and by the end Chris ends up buying me the wallet just to shut me up.

Now — here’s the exciting newsto all humanitarian fashionistas! Save the Children, a fantastic organization that focuses on creating opportunities for children in the United States and around the world, has partnered with none other than Bulgari for a new project! Through their new collaboration and a campaign called Rewrite the Future, Bulgari has created a Save the Children- themed ringand will donate $60 of the $290 to the foundation. The ring is verrrry cool, the outside is engraved with “Bulgari”  in an Olde English-style font and the “Save the Children” logo is emblazoned on the inside. Better yet, it’s unisex so you can grab one for yourself and your boyfriend/girlfriend/mom/dad/brother, etc. No excuses!

Check it out — if we’re lucky they’ll continue to have a decent stock available. $290 is a bit of an investment in a silver ring, but the proceeds will definitely go to help make children’s lives better all over the world. And, you’ll get a cool new item to add to your stock and know that you’re doing a good deed. What could possibly be better? 

<3.

A whole lotta humanitarian hotness.
A whole lotta humanitarian hotness.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by stefanie on March 23, 2009 at 12:24 PM

    I love this idea. I buy tons of fashion accessories and the fact that I can still buy something so beautiful AND help out at the same time is absolutely wonderful. Thank you!!!

    Reply

  2. I agree — so cute & a lot goes to the kids :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

